Ittag SS18 Classical Planets scarf pink

£117.00 £195.00

Made in Italy, the Classical Planets from Ittag is a 100% cashmere jacquard yarn dyed scarf. The astrophysics-inspired design is realised by the use of jacquard techniques. Ittag's SS18 collection is composed of designs which represent the captivating world of astrophysics. 

Size: 35 x 200cm with fringes
Fabric: 100% cashmere 

Ittag was launched in 2016, combining state of the art techniques with modern and unique designs that all tell a story. "We take inspiration for the collections from travelling - both real and imaginary." 

Click here for all Ittag available at Diverse

In classical antiquity, the Seven Luminaries, or what we now call the Seven Classical Planets are the seven non-fixed objects in the sky most easily visible to the unaided eye: the Moon, Mercury, Venus, the Sun, Mars, Jupiter, and Saturn. 

Since then, the influence of this structure of the skies has been huge: for example, the days of the week directly inherited their names from the names of the planets. Similarly, in alchemy, each classical planet was associated with one of the seven metals known to the classical world: silver, mercury, copper, gold, iron, tin and lead. Traditionally, each of the seven planets in the solar system - as known to the ancients - was associated with a certain metal.

Astronomical discoveries over the centuries have moved the number of planets in our solar system to eight: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune. Discovered in 1930, Pluto was reduced to a “dwarf planet” in 2006 - a highly controversial decision. Nevertheless, more changes to this number may occur soon: astronomers are hunting for another planet in our solar system, a true ninth planet, after evidence of its existence was unveiled on Jan. 20, 2016. 


You also Viewed